killoveri.blogg.se

Rabbi david reiss
Rabbi david reiss










rabbi david reiss

Over the years, I think we have lost this connection. I don’t imagine a single child in my 1960’s Religious School did not plant a tree. We were the first generation who had not known a time without a Modern state and we appreciated the importance and significance of this faraway place in our lives. It connected us in a very tangible way to the State of Israel. Re-reading this note reminded me how significant this tree planting exercise had been for me and my generation. Recently, while visiting my parents I came across the letter, dated in the spring of 1969 from the desk of Coretta Scott King thanking me for honoring her husband in this special way. I planted trees in honor of relative’s special birthdays, anniversaries, and most notably, in memory of Dr. I, not unlike many American Jews, imagined someday visiting Israel and seeing “my tree”. I am sitting in my Talmud Torah class, licking the backs of the JNF “green stamps” working my way down the card to purchase a tree in Eretz Yisrael. Tu B’shvat always emerges as one of the clearest. Very appropriate for the season and for a day of celebrating the life of Debbie Friedman. The same for the rabbi’s stamps, which also change occasionally.This post is from the iCenter, which is on the cutting edge of Israel education in North America, and is written by my friend Lori Sagarin. If the stamp changes, I show the new stamp. If the same stamp repeats (which happens often) I only show it once. It was also very common in Galicia during this period for Jews to marry religiously without a civil marriage, and these records only show the civil marriages, so these are not the only towns, but the towns in which people married someone in Rzeszów that a civil record exists.įor each town that stamps exist for I have posted each stamp. It might be possible to do a more scientific study of the records and generate statistics on which communities married which other communities, but that’s for someone else to do. It is just suggestive of which communities the Jewish community of Rzeszów were most connected to via marriage during those years. Keep in mind that this list is in no way comprehenive. For towns in Poland, I’ve linked the town name to the page for that town in the B&F Compendium of Jewish Genealogy.

#RABBI DAVID REISS FULL SIZE#

Click on any image to load the full size image so you can see it better (you’ll need to go Back to get back to the list). Not surprisingly, the towns that are larger and closer tend to repeat more frequently.īelow you’ll see all the stamps. Obviously many of these towns (and rabbis) repeat. Over those dozen years there are close to a hundred towns represented, and over 50 rabbis. Keep this in mind when searching for birth certificates from towns that have no records – did the person get married somewhere else? Did you find that marriage record yet? The marriage certificates would generally be stamped as well, but by the officiating rabbi. The birth certificates were stamped with a special stamp representing the Jewish community of the town the record was from (to confirm its authenticity), and those stamps are the basis of this post. Thus if a man from outside of Rzeszow was marrying a woman in Rzeszów, his birth certificate would generally be included in the file. In the wedding files, there are frequently also birth certificates, showing which community one or more of the couple getting married came from originally. Much of my father’s family lived in the town during this period. Rzeszów was known as Reisha (in Yiddish among the Jewish community), and it was a major community in the Austrian province of Galicia, which was later split between Eastern Poland (where Rzeszów is located) and Western Ukraine. I’ve gone through about a dozen years of marriage contracts for the Jewish community of Rzeszów, Poland (in Fond 533 in the Rzeszów Archives) from about 1898 to 1910, and looked for towns that were represented by official stamps used in the documents. You might be wondering how communities could be tied to a town via marriage.












Rabbi david reiss